Paul’s Dirty Thirty White Trash Bash

image

My love turned thirty this past weekend, so it only made sense that I would throw a themed party in his honor.  And what better way to celebrate my favorite southern gentleman, than to surround him with all things ‘Merica? Bring on the camo, red solo cups, and PBR!!!  This is how we pulled off Paul’s Dirty Thirty White Trash Bash!!

imageFirst of all, there was the matter of inspiration.  I saw an Instagram post I did last 4th of July about this locally brewed beer from a brewery down the street from us.  However, there is nothing that screams ‘Merica quite like PBR.  It also happens to be one of Paul’s favorite suds.  I still think PBR stands for “Paul Beer Drinkin’ Roney.”  Long before hipsters took to the blue ribbon winning beer–a newly minted 21 year old, boot cut jeans-wearing bartender named Paul, pounded the American ale by the six pack. Although he hates that his favorite go-to has become a fad for the young and black rimmed glasses type, he loves that at most bars, a can still averages at about $2.50.  So, it all started with a PBR—

I immediately tasked Paul and his brother; Matt to drinking a case…for the sake of decoration of course.  One drunken night, a wire wreath shell, and a glue gun provided me with this beauty:

image

Ain’t she purdy?  My aluminum art wasn’t the only thing that was made from the brothers Roney and their PBR binge.

image

This guy was the inspiration for these guys:

image

image

I like to think that it adds a little something special…a feminine touch so to speak.  A little hemp string, a tight sailor’s knot, and a few of the poor man’s rose (carnations) and our redneck window treatment was complete!

Last year, I even made an entire 4 tiered birthday cake for Paul out of PBR!  Dang it…I wish I had held off for this year.

image

I found this camo burlap at Walmart in the hunting section, while I was searching for a camo shirt to wear to the party. Duck blind camouflage?  How about table cloth?!!  It turned out to be my favorite find!  At a little more than $15, I finally found a tablecloth big enough to fit our custom farmhouse table, even for just a night.  *Ok, we may or may not still have this on our table out of sheer laziness.

image

I added wooden table signs made of roofing nails and barn wood, camo paper products, and PBR drinking glasses to complete my themed tablescape.  Paul’s NASCAR flag provided that certain je ne sais quoi that really pulled the room together.

image

My mother instilled in me from a very early age that you should always be ready to entertain.  That means that the house is always tidy, you always have a bottle of wine handy, and guests never go hungry as long as they are in your company. This mentality also conditions you to really listen to your friends and family about their particular likes and dislikes.  For instance, I know that the Roney boys like their M&Ms in peanut and almond form, my mother needs a minimum of 2 good bottles of cabernet, and my Georgia Southern buddies need a steady stream of chocolate milk, Powerade, Pepto, and Tums when they come to town.  I keep these stocked.  Chances are, if you’ve told me something is your favorite–I’ve got a stash somewhere.  That being said, I had a menu brewing as soon as we set our theme.

I started out by having Paul whip up a batch of his spicy chili, which paired well with the jalapeno cornbread whoopie pies with the goat cheese and chive filling.  Thank you Pinterest!  Some peach bourbon BBQ meatballs in the crockpot and various chili fixins weren’t hard to whip up in a flash.  Just don’t do what I did and forget to turn the crockpot on until the party started…

image

I also bought a keg.  I know, I know.  When was the last time you threw a keggar?  I’m pretty sure I was 22…  That being said, the PBR did flow and beer pong was played.

As we all know, you can’t have a party without a cake.  Paul’s favorite is Boston Creme Pie, and it should be known that last year, the two of us got drunk on Duck Dynasty wine (oh yeah, that’s a real thing) and decided to attempt to bake one. It looked like this:

image

I mean…this is why you don’t ever drink and bake.  However, this year, I had a little more time to research how to…well, make the filling stay in place.  The trick?  Hollow out the top of the bottom layer and load it up with the filling.  This minimizes the “ooze factor” and prevents the above from happening.  This year, Paul’s birthday cake looked like this:

image

In an attempt to provide snacks in multiple locations around the house, I set up s’more stations around the deck so people could roast their own marshmallows.  Again, thank you Pinterest!  This was such a crowd pleaser!!  Who would’ve thought that a tin foil-lined terra cotta pot plus hot charcoal would provide so much entertainment and joy?  Brilliant I tell you!

image

And finally, I really went all out with my theme.  Bathrooms are no exception.  I particularly enjoy sprucing up a powder room with fresh flowers, candles, Poo-pouri, and yes, we have a bathroom guest book.  I really committed this time though.  No southern household is complete without a Mason jar soap dispensar (my mom got me one from an antique market).  And nothing says “redneck” like an outhouse.

Before you panic, I didn’t actually have an outhouse erected for the sake of the party!  Though, a fancy pants port-o-potty would have been hilarious.  I opted to turn our downstairs bathroom into one though:

image

Hope you enjoyed this hillbilly happy birthday post and I’m so blessed to get to share in all of the many milestone birthdays with Paul!  Sugar, you think 30 was themed…just wait til 40!!  XOXO–Kori

image

image

Leave a Reply

